Ministry of Foreign Affairs, October 1950

Minister: Zhou Enlai Deputy Ministers: Wang Jiaxiang CCP 1906

Li Kenong CCP PLA 1899

Zhang Hanfu CCP 1905

General Office

Director: Wang Bingnan CCP 1908 **Deputy Directors:** Yan Baohang CCP 1895

Dong Yueqian CCP 1914

Lai Yeli CCP 1910

USSR and Eastern European Division

Director: Wu Xiuquan CCP 1908 **Deputy Director**: Xu Yixin CCP 1911

Asia Division

Director: Shen Duanxian CCP 1900 **Acting Director**: Qiao Guanhua CCP 1913

Deputy Director: Chen Jiakang CCP 1913

Western Europe and Africa Division

Director: Huan Xiang CCP 1910 **Deputy Director**: Wen Pengjiu CCP 1905

US and Australian Division

Director: Ke Bonian CCP 1904

International Division

Director: Dong Yueqian CCP 1914 **Deputy Director**: Gong Pusheng (f) CCP 1913

Intelligence Division

Director: Gong Peng (f) CCP 1914

Section 1: foreign journalists

Section 2: embassies in China

Section 3: research international news

Section 4: foreign affairs library

Treaty Committee

Director: Zhang Hanfu CCP 1905 **Members**: Liu Zerong CCP(1956) 1892

Mei Ruao 1904

Specialists: He Sijing CCP 1896

Zhang Jiungbo

Ye Jingxin 1881

Lu Diandong 1907

Foreign Policy Committee

Director: Zhou Enlai CCP 1898 **Deputy Director**: Qiao Guanhua CCP 1913

Secretary: Yang Gang (f) CCP 1905

Advisor: Mei Ruao 1904

Protocol Office

Director: Wang Zhuoru CCP 1911 **Deputy Director**: Shen Ping CCP 1919

Source: Keith Ronald C. (1989) The Diplomacy of Zhou Enlai. Page 37